Exercise : Rain

So I have to imagine a magazine cover on one subject, Rain.  Well after the weather of the UK this year it is easy to imagine why a magazine would have such an obscure topic on its cover.

Initial ideas are floods and erosion caused by the rain, however I don’t intend to wait till the next disaster to find something similar.  Then I thought of all the garden parties that have been postponed or put off due to rain.  Thoughts of my car windscreen and the wipers trying to clear the rain on the long journeys between my postings to opposite ends of the UK.  I do have a rain sleeve for my camera and lenses however I don’t think I need to get my camera wet or even shoot out in the rain for this exercise.

It would be easy to recreate a scene from a party and have it “Rained” on, or to cover my car in “Rain” and shoot the wipers clearing the deluge from the windscreen.  The trusty garden hose may come to my rescue here.

Having shot this and after editing I have just realised that I should have shot it in Portrait orientation.  All my images are landscape, so I have created an inside / outside diptych image that is better shaped for printing as a magazine cover.

Top 70 mm 1/1000 Sec @ f 4 ISO 400
Bottom 50 mm 1/1000 Sec @ f 4 ISO 800

Is it an attractive image?  Well I do like how the rainbow effect is happening on the cleared glass .  As a subject, Rain is quite difficult to make look attractive.

 

About scoobyjohnston

30 Something Photographer using this Blog to document my study through the Open College of the Arts for my BA in Photography
This entry was posted in Project Exercises. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment